Dealing with insurance companies when selecting a policy or after an accident can be a confusing process. Often times, we are not sure what the different types of coverages mean or when we can use those coverages after we have been in an accident. The following is five different types of car insurance coverages for most policies in Texas.
1. Liability Insurance.
This is the insurance most of us are familiar with. In Texas, it is state law that every driver carry what is called 30/60/25 coverage. What this means is that if you are at fault in an accident, then the driver you hit can recover up to $30,000.00 from your insurance company for any bodily injury they suffer and up to $25,000.00 for any property damage done to their vehicle. If there are multiple people in the car, then the injured parties can recover up to $60,000.00 for personal injuries suffered in the accident. This coverage is only applied to the driver you hit if you were at fault in the accident. It does not cover any of your own property damage or any of your own medical expenses, whether the accident was your or the other driver’s fault. If you are hit and the other driver was at fault, then you would want to make a claim against the other driver’s liability insurance.
2. Collision Coverage.
This insurance applies when you are in an accident and your car is damaged as a result of an accident. This insurance will pay for the repairs to the damage done to your car. If you totaled the car, then this will pay you cash for the totaled vehicle. This insurance is often required when you are still making payments on the car.
3. Comprehensive Coverage.
This insurance covers damages to your car caused by things other than a vehicular accident, such as theft, weather damage, etc. Again, if you are still paying off your car, then this insurance is often required.
4. Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Protection.
Despite it being required by state law that all drivers on Texas roads carry liability insurance, there are still many drivers that make the decision to drive without the liability coverage. If you are hit by a driver without liability insurance, or if the insurance coverage the person who hit you has is less than the total amount necessary to fix the damage that the accident caused, then you can use your uninsured/underinsured coverage to pay the claim or make up the difference. For example, if Driver A is injured in an accident caused by Driver B, and Driver B only has the minimum of $30,000.00 liability insurance for bodily injury, then Driver A will need to use his underinsured coverage to help pay if his medical bills are greater than $30,000.00.
5. Personal Injury Protection.
This is a no-fault coverage, meaning it applies whether you or the other driver was at fault for the accident, that can be used to help pay you and your passengers’ medical bills for injuries sustained in a car wreck.
If you have been injured in an accident and you need help understanding what claims you should make, then please call Westbrook Law to schedule a free consultation.